How to get an SR22 Insurance in New Mexico

How to get an SR22 Insurance in New Mexico?

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?

An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that the driver meets the minimum requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state. 

SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility, which is needed to get your driving privileges reinstated after a driving infraction such as a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.

Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the auto insurance company that proves the driver has the minimum liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.

 

SR22 Insurance in New Mexico

New Mexico is one of the six states where drivers do not need an SR22 insurance to get their driver’s license reinstated after being convicted of a moving violation or some other serious driving related offense. However the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) in New Mexico makes it mandatory for all drivers to carry minimum liability insurance coverage.

 

What is the minimum liability coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers in New Mexico?

The state of New Mexico requires all drivers to have a minimum liability coverage of –

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident.
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • $10,000 property damage coverage.

 

If you fail to maintain the minimum liability coverage, the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) in New Mexico will notify you before suspending your driving privileges. To get your driving privileges reinstated you’ll have to provide proof of minimum liability coverage along with paying the reinstatement fees.

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

How do I get my license reinstated after being convicted of a DUI in New Mexico?

Once your New Mexico driver’s license suspension period is over, you can apply for DUI reinstatement. You’ll need to pay the reinstatement fee, complete a DWI Prevention and Education Program, and retake your driving test.

Below we have mentioned New Mexico Driver’s license reinstatement requirements:

  • Fulfill Driver’s License Suspension Period
  • Pay All Court Fines & Legal Fees
  • Pay Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee
  • Complete DWI Prevention & Education Program
  • Retake Driver’s License Examinations

 

What is the penalty for being convicted of a DUI in New Mexico?

It is against the law in New Mexico to drive while under the influence of an intoxicating liquor or drug (DWI).  If convicted of a first offense DWI, the driver may face: 

  • A fine of up to $500
  • 90-day jail sentence
  • Community service
  • Probation
  • State-approved DWI school
  • Ignition Interlock Requirement
  • License Suspension

 

On a second DWI conviction, the court might require you to enroll in and complete an inpatient or outpatient treatment program. 

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

What is Ignition Interlock Device?

The courts in New Mexico can order all drivers convicted of DWI to install an ignition interlock device (IID) as a condition of their probation.  

If a motorist is convicted of a fourth or subsequent DWI, they may be required to install an ignition interlock device for life.  To apply for an ignition interlock device, motorists must obtain an ignition interlock license via the MVD in New Mexico. In addition to a reinstatement fee, motorists must provide a copy of the ignition interlock provider contract, submit proof of insurance, and file a notarized affidavit for Ignition Interlock License. 

If motorists are caught driving a vehicle without an IID installed after being ordered to, they could face jail time, a high fine, immobilization of their vehicle, and a license revocation.

 

Get in touch with SR22InsuranceNow!

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest minimum liability insurance in New Mexico. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest insurance rates in New Mexico. 

Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured