Texas SR22 is legal certified needed by drivers who have had their driver’s license suspended. The SR-22 Insurance certificate states that a driver has the state-required car insurance coverage required to have his license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving infractions, such as
- DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
- You were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
- When there are unpaid legal judgments
- Caught without auto insurance or are unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
- When there are excessive violations within a short period of time
What is the minimum coverage amounts to be purchased and maintained in Texas?
Texas requires a minimum auto insurance coverage of
- 30,000 for injury or death of one person.
- $60,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- $25,000 damage to property.
How do I file a Texas SR22 insurance form?
If you have car insurance, you can get in touch with your auto insurance provider and they will file the SR22 insurance on your behalf for a fee and submit it to the sate, however, if your current insurance provider does not have SR22 insurance or you’re looking for cheap SR22 in Texas, SR22Insurancenow can help. We will connect you with top SR22 insurance providers in Texas, so you can speak with experts who can get you the best SR22 insurance quotes for you to compare and pick the right SR22insurance for you with a single phone call.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Texas?
Your insurance company will charge you a fee of $20 to $50 to file for SR22 insurance in Texas. However, with an SR22 certificate in Texas, the average cost of auto insurance is around $1,620 per year, and that rates will typically increase by 49% after a DUI amounting to around to $2,414 per year after a DUI that required them to obtain an SR-22 insurance policy in this case. SR22insurancenow can help you get insured by connecting you with top insurance providers who can offer you free quotes in minutes over the phone.
Here’s a rough example of SR22 insurance in Texas
TEXAS CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER COMMON VIOLATIONS
|Rating factor||Average yearly rate||Increase vs. no violations|
|At-fault collision with damage over $2,000||$2,130||$714|
|Speeding with 21-25 mph over the limit||$1,651||$235|
How long will I need an SR-22 in Texas?
You must maintain the SR22 in Texas for a minimum of two years depending on the offense and this must be renewed at least a month or two before it expires.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Texas
Non Owner SR22 insurance in Texas is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a non-owner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help in discovering insurance agents that offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Texas. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can undoubtedly have your SR22 documented today!
Texas DUI/DWI Laws & Penalties
Texas has strict DUI/DWI laws and penalties. You are not allowed to drive a motor vehicle in Texas when your BAC reaches .0.8 for all drivers, and 0.02 for drivers under the age of 21. Penalties for this violation include jail time up to 6 months (for first timers), fine up to $2,000 or both. For DUI/DWI incidents the driver’s license gets suspended for a period of 90 days. If a person commits a DWI while a passenger younger than 15 is in the vehicle, he can face up to 6 months of jail time and a fine up to $10,000.