SR22 Insurance in South Carolina
In South Carolina, if your license has been suspended for any moving violations or you have been convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company to get your license reinstated.
SR22 insurance in South Carolina certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your license reinstated after having been convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
SR-22 requirements in South Carolina are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
- When your uninsured vehicle gets involved in an accident
- When you have multiple traffic violations in a short span of time
- When you get caught for DWI/DUI
- When you are caught for incidents like driving misdemeanor or being a part of a driving felony such as vehicular homicide
What is the basic minimum coverage needed for drivers requiring SR22 in South Carolina?
The state of South Carolina requires all drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance to have a basic minimum coverage of –
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage
How to file SR-22 in South Carolina?
Your SR22 insurance in the state of South Carolina can be acquired from your auto insurance provider who will file your SR22 form with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a fee.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you file SR22 in South Carolina. Just give us a call at 888-885-3948 (tollfree). An SR22 specialist will get you free SR22 quotes from top providers in South Carolina. You can compare rates and save big!
All this can happen just over a phone call. Once you choose the provider, they will file SR22 on your behalf with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a minimum fee. You will receive a copy of the form and a letter from the DMV once your SR22 insurance form filing has been accepted.
How much does an SR-22 cost in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, your insurance provider will charge you a filing fee of $15 to $35 to file for an SR22. However the filing fee isn’t the most expensive part of the SR22 Insurance. Once you are asked to get an SR22 Insurance, you are termed as a “high-risk” driver by the state of South Carolina and most of the auto insurance providers, resulting in higher insurance premiums hitting your wallet hard.
The increase in premium amount you pay depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, age, and many other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in South Carolina after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions-
|High-risk rating factor||Average annual rate||Increase vs. no violations|
|At-fault crash over $2,000||$2,012||$598|
|Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit||$1,709||$296|
How long do I need an SR-22 in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, all drivers requiring an SR22 insurance must maintain it for a minimum of three years (36 months).
If you cancel or let your SR22 insurance policy lapse prematurely, your auto insurance provider will notify the DMV and your driving privileges will be suspended until you get your SR22 renewed.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance in South Carolina
In South Carolina, Non Owner SR22 insurance is required for drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver in an accident.
The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in South Carolina depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find top insurance providers in South Carolina that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 today!
How to get cheap SR22 insurance in South Carolina without a car?
In South Carolina, if you are required to file SR-22 but you don’t own a car, you have to get a Non – Owner SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
The best way to get cheap SR22 insurance even if you don't own a car is to shop around and get quotes from multiple providers and compare rates. SR22InsuranceNow can help you get FREE SR22 insurance quotes from top insurance providers. You can compare rates and save big!
Call us now at our toll-free number 888-885-3948.
South Carolina DUI/DWI Laws & Penalties
DUI/DWI laws for the state of South Carolina is classified into two. BAC less than 0.14% and BAC above 0.15%. Penalties for these violations include jail time, a minimum fine of $400 (for the first offense).
Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quote in South Carolina