If you are a high risk driver or have gotten in trouble due to a DUI/DWI or a dangerous accident on the roads of Michigan, you are likely to be required to file SR-22 or SR-21 insurance to show proof of financial responsibility. You will be required to get SR-22 or SR-21 insurance in Michigan for incidents like
- Convicted of a DUI, DWI When you fail to provide valid proof of insurance or providing false documents.
- When you drive on a suspended or revoked license.
- When you get excessive tickets.
- When there is an unpaid legal judgment.
- When you fail to pay child support.
- When you are involved in an accident while uninsured and failing to pay compensatory damages.
How to Get SR-22 Insurance in Michigan?
Filing SR22 Certificate in State of Michigan is presently hassle-free with SR22Insurancenow. We will help you to get connected to the top Michigan SR22 providers where you can talk to our experts, compare quotes, and save big. Our experts can get you the best SR22 Insurance quotes with a single phone call.
Michigan Laws & Penalties
Since there are different ways to become impaired and different levels of impairment, Michigan DUI laws are categorized into:
Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI): You weren’t able to drive safely and the officer could see it by noticing your behavior, you will be arrested for OWVI. You don’t need a blood alcohol content (BAC)of 0.08 or above to be charged with OWVI.
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI): When you drive with a bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more
Operating with Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine: You can be arrested if any of the chemical tests show a positive sign for schedule 1 drugs or cocaine
Zero tolerance: If you’re underage, and you are found with a BAC of 0.02% to 0.07%, you’re getting arrested.
For first-timers who committed an OWI violation, the penalties include imprisonment up to 93 days, fines up to $500, up to 360 hours of community service, license suspension for 30 days and 6 points on the driver record. For first-timers who committed an OWVI violation, the penalties include imprisonment up to 93 days, fines up to $300, up to 360 hours of community service, license suspension for 90 days and 4 points on the driver record.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance In Michigan
Non owners SR22 insurance in Michigan is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a non owner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help in discovering insurance agents that offer non-owner SR22 in Michigan. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can undoubtedly have your SR22 documented today!