SR22 is a legal document, you are required to file to get your driver's license reinstated. The Tennessee SR22 insurance certifies that you have the minimum state-required car insurance coverage required to drive a vehicle and get your license reinstated. You will require a Tennessee SR-22 Insurance after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
- DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
- You were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
- When there are unpaid legal judgments
- Caught without auto insurance or are unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
- When there are excessive violations within a short period of time
- Failure to pay child support
What is the minimum coverage amount to be purchased and maintained in Tennessee?
The minimum coverage amount to be purchased in Tennessee is $25,000 for each injury or death per accident. $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident. $15,000 for property damage per accident.
What is the fine for driving without car insurance in Tennessee?
Driving without insurance in Tennessee is a Class A misdemeanor. And if you are involved in an auto accident that results in bodily injury or death and if you are at fault, you could incur a fine of up to $2,500 and maybe even jail time for up to 11 months and 29 days.
How Do I File a Tennessee SR22 Insurance form?
Filing an SR22 Certificate in the State of Tennessee is now easy. SR22Insurancenow can help you connect with top SR22 insurance providers in Tennessee, compare quotes, and save big. We’ll help you connect with experts who can get you the best SR22 Insurance quotes with a single phone call. Once you choose your SR22 insurance provider, they will file an SR22 insurance form for you for a minimum fee and submit the form to the Tennessee Department of State to be processed.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Tennessee?
Your insurance company will charge you a fee of $15 to $35 to file for SR22 insurance in Tennessee. However, having an SR22 certificate in Tennessee will increase your premium amount depending on the provider you choose your driving violation, age, and other factors.
Here’s an example of average SR22 insurance rate
|High-risk rating factor||Average annual rate||Increase vs. clean record|
|At-fault crash less than $2,000)||$2,215||$645|
|Speeding 21-25 mph over the limit||$2,043||$473|
How long will I need an SR-22 in Tennessee?
You must maintain the SR22 in Tennessee for a minimum of three to five years.
What happens after my SR22 Insurance expires?
Once your Tennessee SR22 expires or is canceled, the insurance company will issue an SR-26 to end your converge.
Nonowner SR22 Insurance In Tennessee
Non Owner SR22 insurance in Tennessee is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a nonowner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help in discovering insurance agents that offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Tennessee. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can undoubtedly have your SR22 documented today!
Tennessee Laws & Penalties
You are not allowed to drive a motor vehicle in Tennessee when your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reaches .08 for all drivers, .02 for drivers under the age of 21, and .04 for commercial drivers. The penalties include 48 hours to 11 months or29 days (7-day minimum with a .20% BAC or more) jail time, and a fine up to $1500 for first-timers.