SR22 Insurance in Florida
In Florida, if your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company to get your license reinstated.
SR22 insurance in Florida certifies that you have the minimum state-required car insurance coverage to drive on the road.
SR-22 requirements in the state of Florida are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
Who needs an SR22 Insurance in Florida?
- In Florida, SR22 car insurance is essential for drivers -
- Convicted of DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations
- Who were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and they did not have the minimum liability insurance
- Who have unpaid legal judgments
- Who were caught driving without insurance or were unable to show proof of auto insurance to the authorities
- Who have had excessive violations within a short period of time
- Failed to pay child support
What is the basic minimum coverage needed for drivers requiring SR22 in Florida?
The state of Florida requires all drivers requiring SR22 to have a basic minimum coverage of –
- $10,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $10,000 personal injury protection.
- $10,000 property damage liability.
- $20,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident.
How do I file SR22 form in Florida?
Your auto insurance provider will file SR22 on your behalf with Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.
You can alternatively connect with us by making a call to our tollfree number 888-885-3948. An SR22 specialist will help you obtain free SR22 quote from top providers in Florida. You can compare rates and save big!
How much does an SR-22 cost in Florida?
Your insurance company will charge you a fee of $15 to $35 to file for SR22 insurance in Florida. Having an SR22 certificate in Tennessee will increase your premium amount. Depending on the provider you choose your driving violation, age, and other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in Florida after being convicted of one of the below listed driving infractions-
|High-risk rating factor||Average annual rate||Increase vs. clean record|
|At-fault collision with dame of over $2,000||$3,178||$869|
|Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit||$2,338||$579|
How long do I need a SR22 Insurance in Florida?
You must maintain the SR22 insurance in Florida for a period of minimum three years. However, the exact duration requirement may vary depending on type of violation and the reason for which you are required to file an SR22. Please contact your local office of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) to find out how long you need to maintain your SR22.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance in Florida
Non Owner SR22 insurance in Florida is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The cost of a non owner SR22 insurance depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find top insurance providers in Florida that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 today!
How to get cheap SR22 insurance in Florida without a car?
If you are required to file SR-22 in Florida but you don’t own a car, you have to get a Non – Owners SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
The best way to get cheap SR22 insurance even if you don't own a car is to shop around and get quotes from different providers and compare rates. SR22InsuranceNow can help you get FREE SR22 insurance quotes from top insurance providers in Florida. You can compare rates and save big!
Call us now at our toll-free number 888-885-3948.
How to get cheap SR22 Insurance in Florida with a bad credit?
Motorists with poor credit in Florida should look at the following insurers having the lowest average rates for minimum coverage:
- Direct Auto: $1,255 per year.
- Geico: $1,547 per year.
- Allstate: $1,734 per year.
- State Farm: $2,095 per year.
- Progressive: $2,971 per year.
If you have a bad credit and want to get an SR22 Insurance in Florida, SR22InsuranceNow has got you covered. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 and one of our executives will assist you in choosing the cheapest SR22 Insurance plan!
Do I have to carry an SR22 even if I move out of Florida to a new state?
Even if you move out of Florida, you will still need to carry the SR-22 insurance in your new state. This is regardless of whether you live in a state that requires SR-22 insurance or not.
What’s the difference between SR22 and FR44 Insurance in Florida?
Except Florida and Virginia, all other states require an SR22 insurance to restore the license for driving related offenses. These two states have incorporated an exclusive certificate, FR44, specially for DUI and DWI offenses whose liability limit is higher than $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident / $40,000 asset damage.
This is mainly incorporated since drunk or impaired driving can have much more disastrous consequences. Sadly, drivers convicted for DUI/DWI are repeatedly continuing the same behaviour. Hence introducing a much higher premium via FR44 Insurance serves the purpose of keeping a check on intoxicated driving. A higher insurance coverage, also acts as a resource to hopefully meet the needs of injured parties.
Florida Laws & Penalties
You are not allowed to drive a motor vehicle in Florida when your blood-alcohol content (BAC) reaches 0.08 for all drivers, 0.02 for drivers below the age of 21, and 0.04 for commercial drivers. The penalties include fines between $500 -$2000 (if BAC is 0.08% or below), imprisonment up to 6 months, community service, and license cancellation.