SR22 Insurance in Georgia
In Georgia, SR22 is a legal document that drivers are required to file with Georgia Department of Driver Services when they have got a driving citation such as a DUI, a citation for driving with a suspended license, an at-fault accident, a driving-without-insurance citation or accumulating too many points on your license.
SR22 Insurance in Georgia certifies that you have the minimum car insurance coverage as required by the state to drive and have your license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
Who needs an SR22 insurance in Georgia?
In Georgia, drivers who’ve been convicted of one or more of the below listed infractions need to file an SR22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility to get their license reinstated–
- Who are convicted of a DUI/DWI.
- The state of Georgia has revoked their license.
- They’re in an accident and fail to compensate the other driver.
- They’ve racked up repeated traffic violations, such as reckless driving.
What is the basic minimum coverage needed for drivers requiring SR22 in Georgia?
The state of Georgia requires a minimum auto insurance coverage of
- $25,000 for injury or death to one person.
- $50,000 for injury or death to two or more people
- $25,000 for property damage
How do I file a Georgia SR22 insurance form?
You can get your SR22 insurance in the state of Georgia from your auto insurance company who will file your SR22 form with Georgia Department of Driver Services on your behalf for a fee.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you file SR22 in Georgia. Just give us a call at 888-885-3948 (tollfree). An SR22 specialist will get you free SR22 quotes from top providers in Georgia. You can compare rates and save big!
All this can happen just over a phone call. Once you choose the provider, they will file SR22 on your behalf with Georgia Department of Driver Services for a minimum fee. You will receive a copy of the form and a letter from the Department of Driver Services once your SR22 insurance form filing has been accepted.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Georgia?
In Georgia, your insurance provider will charge you a filing fee of $15 to $35 to file for an SR22. However the filing fee isn’t the most expensive part of the SR22 Insurance. Once you are asked to get an SR22 Insurance, you are termed as a “high-risk” driver by the state of Georgia and most of the auto insurance providers, resulting in higher insurance premiums hitting your wallet hard.
The increase in premium amount you pay depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, age, and many other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in Georgia after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions-
|High-risk rating factor||Average annual rate||Increase vs. no violations|
|At-fault crash with damage of over $2,000||$2,502||$893|
|Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit||$2,164||$554|
How long do I need an SR-22 in Georgia?
In Georgia, all drivers requiring an SR22 insurance must maintain it for a minimum of three years (36 months), and this must be renewed at least a month or two before it expires.
If you cancel or let your SR22 insurance policy lapse prematurely, your auto insurance company will file an SR26 with Georgia Department of Driver Services, informing them about the lapse in your SR22. After which Driver Services Department will suspend your driving privileges until you get your SR22 renewed.
What is the difference between an SR-22 and SR-22A?
In Georgia, SR-22 is required for drivers who are convicted of three or more violations within a five-year period. So basically, habitual offenders need to get a Georgia SR22.
Whereas drivers who have been convicted of only one or two violations over a period of five years, they can just get a Georgia SR22A. One might need one if he is caught driving without insurance or with a suspended license. Simply put, Georgia SR22A is for low level driving offenders.
Moreover, the premium for a SR22 is considerably higher as compared to a SR22A because drivers getting Georgia SR22 are considered to be more at risk than drivers who are getting SR22As.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance in Georgia
In Georgia, Non Owner SR22 insurance is required for drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver in an accident.
The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Georgia depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find top insurance providers in Georgia that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 today!
How to get cheap SR22 insurance in Georgia without a car?
In Georgia, if you are required to file SR-22 but you don’t own a car, you have to get a Non – Owner SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
The best way to get cheap SR22 insurance even if you don't own a car is to shop around and get quotes from multiple providers and compare rates. SR22InsuranceNow can help you get FREE SR22 insurance quotes from top insurance providers. You can compare rates and save big!
Call us now at our toll-free number 888-885-3948.
How do I find out if I need to get SR22 in Georgia?
An SR-22 is a mandate given by either the court or your state. If it’s court-mandated, the judge would let you know during your hearing that you are required to get it. If it’s state-mandated, typically, you would receive an official letter in the mail from Georgia Department of Driver Services that you are required to get an SR-22.
You can also approach Georgia Department of Driver Services to get a clarification whether you need a SR22 certificate in Georgia or not.
What Happens after my Georgia SR22 Insurance expires?
Once your Georgia SR22 expires or is cancelled, your auto insurance company will issue an SR-26 certifying the cancellation of the SR22 insurance policy. Moreover, in case of a lapse in your coverage, the auto insurance company is required to report this to the Georgia Department of Driver Services who will suspend your driving privileges until you get your SR22 renewed.
Georgia Laws & Penalties
You are not permitted to drive an engine vehicle in Georgia when your blood alcohol concentration level(BAC) reaches .08 for all drivers, .02 for drivers younger than 21, and .04 for business/commercial drivers.
Penalties for a DUI in Georgia include jail time, fines, license suspension, and installation of the ignition interlock device.
Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quote in Georgia