Illinois SR22 is a legal document, drivers are required to file with the Illinois Driver Services Department. The SR22 insurance in Illinois certifies that you have the state-required car insurance coverage required to drive and have your license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
- DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
- You were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
- When there are unpaid legal judgments
- Caught without auto insurance or are unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
- When there are excessive violations within a short period of time
- Failure to pay child support
What is the minimum coverage amounts to be purchased and maintained in Illinois?
The state of Illinois requires a minimum auto insurance coverage of
- $25,000 for injury or death to one person.
- $50,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- $20,000 for damage to property.
What is the fine for driving without car insurance in Illinois?
The fine for driving without car insurance can range from $500 to $1,000, and the fee for having your license suspended can be around $1,000.
How Do I File an Illinois SR22 Insurance form?
Filing an SR22 Certificate in the State of Illinois is now easy. SR22Insurancenow can help you connect with top SR22 insurance providers in Illinois, compare quotes, and save big. We’ll help you connect with experts who can get you the best SR22 Insurance quotes with a single phone call. Once you choose your SR22 insurance provider, they will file an SR22 insurance form for you for a minimum fee and submit the form to the Illinois Department of State to be processed.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Illinois?
Your insurance company will charge you a fee of $20 to $50 to file for SR22 insurance in Illinois. Having an SR22 certificate in Illinois will increase your premium amount. Depending on the provider you choose, your driving violation, age, and other factors, your SR22 insurance premium can range between $761 and can go up to $4,155. If you're looking for cheap SR22 insurance in Illinois, SR22insurancenow can help you get insured by connecting you with top insurance providers who can offer you free quotes in minutes over the phone.
How long will I need an SR-22 in Illinois?
You must maintain the SR22 in Illinois for a minimum of three years, and this must be renewed at least a month or two before it expires.
What Happens after my SR22 Insurance expires?
Once your Illinois SR22 expires or is canceled, the insurance company will issue an SR-26 to end your converge.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Illinois
Non-owners SR22 insurance in Illinois is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a non-owner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help in discovering insurance agents that offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Illinois. It only takes a couple of minutes and you can undoubtedly have your SR22 documented today!
Illinois Laws & Penalties
According to the state of Illinois, anyone who operates a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more has done a serious DUI offense. The penalties for these include jail time up to 364 days, fines up to $2,500, community service (if BAC is 0.16%), alcohol/drug evaluation treatment, and a license suspension of 12 months. You will be asked to file an SR22 in Illinois in any of these cases.