SR22 is a legal document required by Virginia state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that certifies a driver holding the minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance required to drive. An SR-22 Insurance is required to reinstate your driving license after a serious driving violation such as a DUI conviction or uninsured auto accident.
Who needs a Virginia SR22 insurance?
In Virginia, drivers would need an SR-22 car insurance certificate
- When there are unsatisfied judgments
- When they are caught operating motor vehicles without insurance
- When they fail to provide proof of insurance
- When they are caught falsifying motor insurance certifications
- When their license gets suspended after hit-and-run, vehicular manslaughter, committing perjury regarding vehicle registration or a driver’s license application
- When they disagree for a breath test
What is the minimum coverage amounts to be purchased and maintained by all motorists in Virginia?
According to Virginia state law, it is illegal to drive a car without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage required:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
How do I file a Virginia SR22 insurance form?
Your auto insurance company can help you file and obtain a Virginia SR22 insurance from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV) for a fee of $15 - $50.
You can also contact SR22InsuranceNow who will help you get connected with top SR22 providers in Virginia where you can talk to SR22 experts, compare quotes, and save big. All it needs is a phone call.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Virginia?
Your insurance company will usually charge you a filing fee of $25 to $50 for SR22 insurance in Virginia.
With SR22 certificate, your insurance premium will go up depending upon the traffic violation, and other factors such as your age, driving history, and more. However, if you are looking for cheap SR22 insurance in Virginia you can contact SR22InsuranceNow
Here is an example of SR22 insurance rates. If you are looking for cheap SR22 insurance, you can contact us to help you get a FREE Quote.
|High-risk rating factor||Average annual rate||Increase vs. no violations|
|At-fault collision over $2,000||$1,562||$557|
|Speeding over 21-25 mph than the limit||$1,249||$243|
How long will I need an SR-22 in Virginia?
No matter whatever is the reason to obtain the SR22, a driver in Virginia needs to maintain the SR22 certificate for a minimum of three years. Your insurer will notify the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV) if your insurance lapses. This will lead to the suspension of your driving license until the SR22 is renewed.
What is FR44 insurance in Virginia?
The FR-44 insurance in Virginia is similar to an SR-22. However FR44 is required if you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or other intoxicants(DUI or DWI). FR44 is a legal document of financial responsibility in Virginia that proves you carry the minimum coverage needed on your car insurance to drive as mandated by Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV). Typically, FR44 will require your liability coverage limits to be significantly higher than the state minimum.
How long will I need an FR44 in Virginia?
You will need to maintain FR44 insurance in Virginia for a minimum of 3 years. In few specific cases, the required minimum period can be up to 4 years. As with SR22, policy lapse might attract license suspension, additional fees, higher rates.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance in Virginia
In Virginia, Non Owner SR22 insurance is required for drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a non owner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help you in find top providers who offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Virginia. It only takes a couple of minutes. You can have your SR22 documented today!
Virginia DUI/DWI Laws & Penalties
According to the state of Virginia, drunk driving means operating a motor vehicle with a BAC that is at 0.08% or greater. The penalties for drunken driving include incarceration (mandatory 5 days incarceration if the offender had a minor passenger in his vehicle) and fines up to $2500.