SR22 is a legal certificate required by the Colorado state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as proof that you hold the minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance required to drive a car. An SR22 insurance certificate is required to reinstate your driving license after a driving violation such as a DUI conviction or auto accident.
Who needs Colorado Sr22 insurance?
In Colorado, SR-22 car insurance is necessary for drivers
- If you have been in an accident when you need to prove you comply with the Financial Responsibility Act.
- You’ve had license gets suspended or revoked – This can be due to reasons like failure to pay child support, refuse to take a BAC test, vehicular homicide or vehicular assault conviction, failure to drive with proper liability insurance or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
What is the minimum coverage amounts to be purchased and maintained by all motorists?
According to Colorado state law, all drivers must maintain vehicle liability insurance on all registered vehicles. The State of Colorado requires all drivers must carry a minimum liability insurance coverage amounts
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury for two or more people
- $15,000 property damage
How do I file a Colorado SR22 insurance form?
You can obtain a Colorado SR22 insurance from your auto insurance provider. Your insurance company will file your SR22 auto insurance form with the Colorado Bureau of Motor Vehicles for a fee of $15 - $50.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Colorado?
Your insurance company will usually charge you a filing fee of $25 to $50 for SR22 insurance in Colorado. With the SR22 certificate in Colorado, your insurance premium amount will increase depending on your traffic violation, and other factors such as your age, driving history, and more.
|High-risk rating factor||Average annual rate||Increase vs. no violations|
|At-fault collision with damage over $2,000||$2,459||$702|
|Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit||$2,068||$311|
How long will I need an SR-22 in Colorado?
You will be required to maintain the SR22 insurance for nine months to three years depending on the situation. You should renew your SR22 insurance in Colorado at least 15 days before the expiration date. Your insurer will notify the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles if you allow your insurance to lapse. This will lead to the suspension of your driving license until the SR22 is renewed.
What happens after my SR22 Insurance expires?
Once an SR22 expires or is canceled, the insurance company will issue an SR-26 certifying the cancelation of the policy.
Non owner SR22 Insurance In Colorado
Non owner SR22 insurance in Colorado is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a non owner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help in discovering insurance agents that offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Colorado. It only takes a couple of minutes and you can undoubtedly have your SR22 documented today!
Colorado Laws & Penalties
State of Colorado uses SR22 as a financial responsibility certificate. One may ask to file SR22 insurance for multiple reasons. Drink and drive is one such situation where your driver’s license gets suspended if the BAC is 0.08%. Penalties for DUI/DWI violations include jail time, fines, community service, and installation of IID. If you are using SR22 insurance to cover your financial responsibility requirements then you will need one additional piece of documentation. This documentation can be a notarized promissory note, a notarized waiver of security financial responsibility., payment to any individuals you are liable to after the collision, a form proving your bankruptcy after the collision.