SR22 is a certificate required by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as proof that a driver is carrying the minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance required by the state. An SR22 insurance certificate is needed to reinstate your driving privileges after a driving infraction. such as a DUI conviction, an uninsured auto accident.

Who needs a Pennsylvania Sr22 insurance?

In Pennsylvania, SR-22 car insurance is necessary for motorists

  • Caught for DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
  • Who was involved in an accident where there was bodily injury or death or where property damage exceeded $400 and the driver was not covered by the state’s minimum liability insurance.
  • Caught without auto insurance or are unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.

What is the minimum coverage amounts to be purchased and maintained by all motorists? According to PennDOT, Pennsylvania state law requires that all PA drivers maintain vehicle liability insurance on all registered vehicles. All motorist must have a minimum coverage of

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident
  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident
  • Uninsured motorist coverage: $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident*
  • Underinsured motorist coverage: $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident*
  • First party benefits: $5,000

How Do I File a Pennsylvania SR22 Insurance Form?

In Pennsylvania, SR22 insurance can be obtained from your auto insurance provider. The insurance company will file your SR22 auto insurance form with the Pennsylvania Bureau of Motor Vehicles for a fee. Once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted, you will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

How much does an SR-22 cost in Pennsylvania?

Your insurance company will charge you a fee of $25 to $50 to file for SR22 insurance in Pennsylvania. Having an SR22 certificate in Pennsylvania will increase your premium amount depending on your traffic violation, and other factors such as your age, driving history, and more.

High-risk rating factorAverage annual rateIncrease vs. no violations
At-Fault Accident - Greater Than $2,000$2,115$687
Speeding of 21 - 25 MPH Over Limit$1,775$348
Driving with a Suspended License$2,367$940
Reckless driving$2,482$1,054
DUI$2,520$1,092
Racing$2,528$1,101
Leaving Scene of an Accident — Hit and Run$2,645$1,218

How long will I need an SR-22 in Pennsylvania?

You must maintain the SR22 for a minimum of three years. You should renew your SR22 insurance in Pennsylvania at least 15 days before the expiration date. If your insurance lapses, your insurer will notify the State of Pennsylvania, this will lead to the suspension of your driving license until the SR22 is renewed.

What Happens after my SR22 Insurance expires?

Once an SR22 expires or is canceled, the insurance company will issue an SR-26 certifying the cancelation of the policy.

Nonowner SR22 Insurance In Pennsylvania

Nonowners SR22 insurance in Pennsylvania is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The expense of a nonowner SR22 insurance strategy depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score. SR22InsuranceNow will help in discovering insurance agents that offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Pennsylvania. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can undoubtedly have your SR22 documented today!