DUI Laws in Washington State
The DUI law in the state of Washington specifies that drivers found guilty of operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs/alcohol will face a DUI violation and will be charged appropriately.
The law certified driving under the influence as a criminal offence and it results in penalties depending upon the seriousness of your violation.
According to DUI law in Washington state, drivers cannot be in direct control of the vehicle under the following circumstances:
- Blood alcohol level (BAC) of .8% or more for standard drivers
- Have a blood THC (marijuana) level of 5.0 per millimetre or higher
- Driving under the influence of drugs or other such illicit substances.
- Driving under the influence of both drugs and alcohol
What happens when you get convicted for a DUI in Washington State?
Below are some of the consequences one might face in Washington State after being convicted of a DUI:
Driver’s License Suspension:
The most straightforward consequence of a DUI charge is that your driver’s license will be suspended for a certain period of time even though you haven’t been convicted–unless you take immediate legal action.
The jail sentence for a DUI violation in Washington State will depend on various factors such as the seriousness of the offence committed, number of previous violations and other factors. As a first time DUI offender, the driver will face a minimum jail time of 10-365 days in jail.
The most excruciating part of a DUI charge is the exorbitant amount of penalties and fines one has to pay in accordance with the law. There are several other charges such as paying for a DUI school course or an alcohol treatment program which is mandatory for certain offenders.
Additionally, the car you drove while being arrested might also be impounded by the authorities and you may also be required to pay a certain amount for each day it stays in the impound lot. License reinstatement comes with its own fee. And most importantly, having a DUI charge on your driving record will raise the rates of your auto insurance premium.
Penalties for a DUI conviction in Washington State
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Washington State are as follows:
Enhancement for DUIs involving children in Washington State
Individuals caught transporting children under the age of 16 years while at the time of the DUI charge will be directed by the court to face additional charges. The charges are given as follows:
Extra 24 hours in Jail
Extra 5 days in Jail
Extra 10 days in Jail
Washington State Implied Consent Law:
The Implied consent law in Washington states that all drivers lawfully charged with a DUI need to submit their blood/urine sample for further investigation and on failure to do so they will have their license suspended for a certain time period.
SR22 in Washington State
If you’re a high risk driver or have been convicted of a DUI violation or any serious accident on the roads of Washington state, you are likely required to file SR-22 with state authorities to show proof of financial responsibility before your suspended driver’s license is reinstated. You will be required to get SR-22 Insurance in Washington for incidents such as:
- When you get caught for DUI/DWI violations Vehicular assault or homicide
- Reckless and negligent driving
- Hit and run
- Any felony involving a motor vehicle
- Leaving children unattended in a standing vehicle with the motor running
- When there is reckless endangerment in a construction zone or emergency zone
- When you elude the police
The most suitable way to avoid getting charged with a DUI violation or having to pay hefty DUI fines is to simply abstain yourself from driving when you are under the influence of alcohol. But that might not necessarily happen as mistakes are bound to take place – statistics have shown more than 27,000 Washington State drivers per year
We at SR22InsuranceNow aim to provide you with the most accurate and up to date information regarding Washington State’s DUI laws so that you can take the right decision if a certain situation arises.