How to get an SR22 Insurance in Washington?
What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?
An SR22 is a certificate of financial responsibility needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state.
An SR22 insurance is needed to reestablish your driving privileges after a driving infraction for example, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.
Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the insurance company that proves the driver has the liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.
SR22 Insurance in Washington
If your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense, the State of Washington will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your license reinstated.
The SR22 insurance in Washington state certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses such as drinking and driving, multiple reckless driving, driving without car insurance, driving with a suspended license, car accident without car insurance or multiple
SR-22 requirements in the state of Washington are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
Who needs an SR22 Insurance in Washington State?
SR22 car insurance in Washington state is essential for drivers –
- Convicted of DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
- Who owned/drove a vehicle involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property
- With unpaid legal judgments.
- Who were convicted of, or forfeit bail for, certain offenses.
- Who were caught without auto insurance or were unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
- Who were convicted of excessive violations within a short period of time.
What is the basic minimum coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance in Washington State?
The state of Washington requires all drivers requiring a SR22 Insurance to have a basic minimum coverage of –
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 property damage.
How do I get an SR22 Insurance in Washington State?
Your SR22 insurance in the state of Washington can be acquired from your auto insurance provider who will file your SR22 form with the Department of Licensing(DOL) in Washington state for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Department of Licensing(DOL) in Washington once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance in the state of Washington. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in the state of Washington. Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!
How much does a Washington SR22 Insurance cost?
Your insurance provider will charge you a fee of $15 to $35 to file SR22 insurance in Washington. But car insurance providers typically charge a higher premium for drivers having an SR22 certificate to account for the increased risk of claim payout.
The increase in premium amount you get depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, age, and some other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a Washington SR22 insurance cost –
|High Risk Rating Factor||Average Annual Rate||Increase vs. no violations|
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
How long do I need an SR22 Insurance in Washington?
The SR22 insurance in Washington is to be maintained by a driver for a minimum of three years (36 months) depending on the violation committed. If the policy is not renewed at least fifteen (15) days prior to expiration, your auto insurance provider will notify the Department of Licensing (DOL) in Washington resulting in the suspension of your driving license until the SR22 is renewed.
To avoid the event of license being suspended, it is advised that the insured get their policy renewed at least forty five (45) days ahead in time.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Washington
In the state of Washington, Non-owners SR22 insurance is required for drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Washington depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in the state of Washington that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Washington state
1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 Insurance in the state of Washington?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Washington state. Top cities covered – Seattle, Spokane, Tacoma, Vancouver, Bellevue, Kent, Everett, Renton, Spokane Valley, Federal Way, Yakima, Kirkland, Bellingham, Kennewick, Auburn, Pasco, Marysville, Redmond, Sammamish, South Hill, Longview, and more.
Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate etc) will help you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rate in all counties and cities in Washington state. Call us now at 888-885-3948!
2. How to get cheap SR22 Insurance in Washington state without a car?
If you don’t own a car, you have to get a Non – Owners SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 insurance in Washington state. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 today!
3. Does a Negligent Driving 1st Degree conviction in the state of Washington require SR22 insurance?
No, in case you’re convicted for a Negligent Driving 1st Degree, you won’t need to carry an SR22 insurance.
4. Which companies offer cheap SR22 Insurance in Washington state?
Top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer cheap SR22 Insurance in Washington state.
You can call SR22InsuranceNow and one of our executives will assist you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance plan now!
Call us now at 888-885-3948.