SR22 Insurance in Texas
How to get an SR22 Insurance in Texas?
SR22 Insurance in Texas
SR22 is a certificate of financial responsibility which is needed to re-establish your driving privileges after a driving infraction for example, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident or any moving violations.
Texas SR22 is a legal certificate needed by drivers who have had their driver’s license suspended in order to reinstate it or to be able to be back on the road again.
The Texas SR22 insurance certificate states that a driver has the state-mandated minimum auto insurance coverage required to have his license reinstated after being convicted of one or more serious driving infractions.
Who needs an SR22 certificate in Texas?
A Texas SR-22 insurance is essential for drivers –
- Have been caught with DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
- Who were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
- When there are unpaid legal judgments.
- Caught without auto insurance or are unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
- When there are excessive violations within a short period of time.
What is the basic minimum coverage to be maintained by drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance in Texas?
The state of Texas requires all drivers requiring a Texas SR22 Insurance to have a basic minimum coverage of –
- 30,000 for injury or death of one person.
- $60,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- $25,000 damage to property.
How do I get a Texas SR22 Insurance?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you file a Texas SR22 Insurance. Just give us a call at 888-885-3948 and speak to an SR22 specialist who will listen to all your requirements then get you connected with top SR22 insurance providers in Texas. You can get several quotes from multiple providers, compare those and choose the best one suitable for your needs.
All this can happen just through a single phone call. Once you choose the right provider, they will then file an SR22 form for you for a minimum fee and submit the same. You will receive a copy of the form and a letter from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) once your SR22 insurance form filing has been accepted.
How much does a Texas SR22 Insurance cost?
Your auto insurance company will charge you a fee of $20 to $50 to file a Texas SR22 insurance. However, with an SR22 certificate in Texas, the average cost of car insurance is around $1,620 per year. After a DUI that cost will typically increase by 49% amounting to around $2,414 per year. SR22insuranceNow can help you get insured with a Texas SR22 by connecting you with top insurance providers who can offer you free quotes in minutes over the phone.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in Texas after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions-
|High risk rating factor||Average Annual Rate||Increase vs. no violations|
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
How long do I need an SR22 in Texas?
You must maintain the Texas SR22 insurance for a minimum of two years from the date of conviction and this must be renewed at least a month or two before it expires.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Texas
In Texas, a Non-owners SR22 insurance is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Texas depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Texas that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 today!
Some FAQs related to SR22 Insurance in Texas
1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Texas?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 insurance. Top cities covered – Houston, Dallas, Austin, San Antonio, Fort Worth, El Paso, Beaumont, Pearland and more.
Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, StateFarm, Progressive, Allstate etc) will help you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in all counties and cities in Texas. Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
2. How do I find out if I need to get SR22 in Texas?
An SR-22 is a mandate given by either the court or your state. If it’s court-mandated, the judge would let you know during your hearing that you are required to get it. If it’s state-mandated, typically, you would receive an official letter in the mail from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV) that you are required to get an SR-22.
You can also approach the state of Texas DMV to get a clarification whether you need a SR22 Insurance in Texas or not.
3. Which companies offer SR22 in Texas?
4. Which companies offer Non - Owner SR22 in Texas?
5. How to get cheap SR22 insurance in Texas without a car?
If you don’t own a car, you’ll have to get a Non – Owners SR22 Insurance in Texas. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 insurance in Texas. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day.
Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
6. What is the difference between SR22 and SR22A?
SR22A, just like SR22 is a certificate of financial responsibility confirming that the driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed to drive a vehicle as required by the state law.
In Texas, you might need to file for an SR22A certificate if you have been found guilty of committing repeated traffic violations (such as a DUI, hit and run, driving without valid insurance) over a short period of time.
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Texas will let you know whether you need to file for an SR22 or an SR22A certificate.