How to get an SR22 Insurance in Missouri

How to get an SR22 Insurance in Missouri?

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?

An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state. 

SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility which is needed to reestablish your driving privileges after a driving infraction for example, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.

Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the insurance company that proves the driver has the basic minimum liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.

 

SR22 in Missouri

If your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Missouri will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your license reinstated.

The SR22 insurance in Missouri certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.

SR-22 requirements in the state of Missouri are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.

 

Who needs an SR22 in Missouri?

A Missouri SR22 car insurance is essential for drivers – 

  • Convicted of DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
  • Who were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
  • With unpaid legal judgments
  • Who were caught without auto insurance or were unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
  • Who were convicted of excessive violations within a short period of time
  • Who failed to pay child support

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

 

What is the basic minimum coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance in Missouri?

The state of Missouri requires all drivers requiring a Missouri SR22 Insurance to have a basic minimum coverage of – 

  • $25,000 per person bodily injury
  • $50,000 per person for bodily injury or death to more than one person.
  • $10,000 for property damage.

 

How do I get a SR22 in Missouri?

Your Missouri SR22 insurance can be acquired from your auto insurance provider. The insurance agency will file your SR22 auto insurance form with the Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV) in Missouri for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV) in Missouri once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, StateFarm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure that you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in Missouri. Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your requirement!

 

How much does a Missouri SR22 Insurance cost?

In Missouri, your insurance provider company will charge you a filing fee of $20 to $50 to file for SR22 insurance. However, having an SR22 certificate in Missouri will increase your premium amount  depending on the provider you choose, your driving violation, age, and other factors.

You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in Missouri after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions- 

High Risk Rating Factor Average Annual Rate Increase vs. no violations
No Citations
$1,736
-
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
$2,537
$800
Reckless driving
$2,338
$602
Hit-and-run
$2,465
$729
DUI/DWI
$2,332
$596

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

How long do I need a Missouri SR22 Insurance?

You must maintain the SR22 in Missouri for a minimum of one to three years, and this must be renewed at least a month or two before it expires.

 

Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Missouri

In Missouri, Non-owners SR22 insurance is required by drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Missouri depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Missouri that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 now!

 

Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Missouri

 

1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Missouri?

SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest Missouri SR22 Insurance. Top cities covered – Kansas City, St Louis, Springfield, Columbia, Independence, Branson, Ozark, Joplin, Jefferson City, Lee’s Summit, O’Fallon, St Joseph, St Charles, St Peters and more.  

Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, StateFarm, Progressive, Allstate etc) will help you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in all counties and cities in Missouri. Call us now at 888-885-3948!

 

2. How to get cheap SR22 in Missouri without a car?

If you don’t own a car, you have to get a non – owner SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.

SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 today!

 

3. What is the fine for driving without car insurance in Missouri?

If you are caught driving without insurance in Missouri, you could incur serious penalties. You could lose your driving privileges for an entire year and be forced to pay a $400 reinstatement fee, on top of a $500 fine and/or 15 days in jail.

 

4. Which companies offer cheap Missouri SR22 Insurance?

Top insurance companies like StateFarm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer cheap SR22 in Missouri. 

You can call SR22InsuranceNow and one of our executives will assist you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance plan now! Call us now at 888-885-3948

 

5. Which companies offer cheap Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Missouri?

Top insurance companies like StateFarm, Geico, Allstate Progressive and more offer cheap Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Missouri. 

You can call SR22InsuranceNow (888-885-3948) and one of our executives will assist you in getting the cheapest Non – Owner SR22 Insurance plan now!

6. What is the difference between SR22 and SR22A?

SR22A, just like SR22 is a certificate of financial responsibility confirming that the driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed to drive a vehicle as required by the state law. 

SR22A exists only in Texas, Georgia and Missouri.

In Missouri, you might need to file for an SR22A certificate if you have been found guilty of committing repeated traffic violations (such as a DUI, hit and run, driving without valid insurance) over a short period of time.

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Missouri will let you know whether you need to file for an SR22 or an SR22A certificate.

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured