DUI Laws in Arizona

DUI Laws in Arizona

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

The state of Arizona is said to have the most stringent DUI laws across the country because it is classified as 0 tolerance/no tolerance state. This means that in Arizona, an individual can be arrested with a BAC (Blood-Alcohol Concentration) of less than the legal limit of 0.08 percent.

There are three stages of impairment in Arizona which are as follows:

  1. Impaired to the slightest degree/Regular DUI: Having a BAC of .08 to .149%
  2. Extreme DUI: Having a BAC of .15 to .199%
  3. Super Extreme DUI:  Having a BAC of at least .20%

     

Driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics in Arizona is certified as a serious criminal offence and involves strict penalties and charges. Drivers caught violating the rules will be charged appropriately and will face the necessary consequences as directed by the law and the state authorities.

What happens when you get convicted for a DUI in Arizona? 

Below are some of the consequences one might face in Arizona after being convicted of a DUI:

  • Driver’s License Suspension:

The most straightforward consequence of a DUI charge is that your driver’s license will be suspended for a certain period of time even though you haven’t been convicted–unless you take immediate legal action.

  • Jail Sentence:

The jail sentence for a DUI violation in Arizona will depend on various factors such as the seriousness of the offence committed, number of previous violations and other factors. As a first time DUI offender, the driver will face a minimum jail time of 10-365 days in jail.

  • Financial consequences:

The most excruciating part of a DUI charge is the exorbitant amount of penalties and fines one has to pay in accordance with the law. There are several other charges such as paying for a DUI school course or an alcohol treatment program which is mandatory for certain offenders.

Additionally, the car you drove while being arrested might also be impounded by the authorities and you may also be required to pay a certain amount for each day it stays in the impound lot. License reinstatement comes with its own fee. And most importantly, having a DUI charge on your driving record will raise the rates of your auto insurance premium. 

 

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

Penalties for a DUI conviction in Arizona

The penalties for a DUI conviction in the state of Arizona are as follows: 

1st Offence 

 

Impaired or Per Se DUI (BAC of .08 to .149%)

Extreme DUI (BAC of .15 to .199%)

Super Extreme DUI (BAC of at least .20%)

Fine

At least $1,480

At least $3,000

At least $3,250

License Suspension

At least 90 days

At least 90 days

At least 90 days

Jail Sentence

Minimum 10 days

Minimum 30 days

Minimum 45 days

IDD

1 year mandatory

1 year mandatory

1 year mandatory

 

2nd Offence

 

Impaired or Per Se DUI 

Extreme DUI 

Super Extreme DUI 

Fine

At least $3,000

At least $3,250

At least $4,250

License Suspension

At least 365 days

At least 365 days

At least 365 days

Jail Sentence

Minimum 90 days

Minimum 120 days

Minimum 180 days

IDD

1 year mandatory

1 year mandatory

1 year mandatory


3rd Offence

If an individual gets convicted of a 3rd DUI within a span of 7 years, it is classified as a felony and carries the following consequences: 

Fine

$4,000 +

License Suspension

365 Days

Jail Sentence

At least 4 months

IDD

2 Year


Arizona’s Implied Consent Law

The Implied consent law in Arizona states that all drivers lawfully charged with a DUI need to submit their blood/urine sample for further investigation and on failure to do so they will have their license suspended for a certain time period. 

Offence Count

1st Offence

2nd Offence

License Suspension

1 year

2 years 

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

SR22 in Arizona

 

If you are a high risk driver or you have gotten stuck in an unfortunate situation because of a DUI/DWI or a risky mishap on the streets of Arizona, you are probably going to be required to record SR-22 protection to show proof of financial responsibility.

You will be required to file SR-22 Auto Insurance in Arizona for incidents such as:

  • When you get caught for driving a vehicle under drinks or drugs
  • When you are involved in a series of dangerous driving incidents, which added up to 12 points on your driving record within the past 12 months
  • When you failed to have SR-22 insurance for the period of your suspension
  • When you refuse to take a breathalyzer test

     

Summary

The most suitable way to avoid getting charged with a DUI violation or having to pay hefty DUI fines is to abstain yourself from driving when you are under the influence of alcohol. But that might not necessarily happen as mistakes are bound to take place-statistics have shown more than 27,600 Arizona drivers per year get charged with a DWI violation on average.

We at SR22InsuranceNow aim to provide you with the most accurate and up to date information regarding Arizona DUI laws so that you can take the right decision if a certain situation arises.

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured