How to get an SR22 Insurance in Utah?
What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?
An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state.
SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility, which is needed to get your driving privileges reinstated after a driving infraction such as, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.
Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the auto insurance company that proves the driver has the minimum liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.
SR22 Insurance in Utah
If your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Utah will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your driving license reinstated.
The SR22 in Utah certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your driving license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
SR-22 requirements in Utah are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
Who needs an SR22 Insurance in Utah?
SR22 insurance in Utah is essential for drivers convicted of one or more of the below mentioned infractions –
- DUI, DWI
- Serious moving violations, ie… reckless driving, speeding
- Failure to provide valid proof of insurance or providing false documents
- Driving on suspended or revoked license
- Excessive tickets
- Unpaid legal judgements
- Refused to take a breath alcohol test (BAC)
What is the minimum liability coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 in Utah?
The state of Utah requires all drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance to have a minimum liability coverage of –
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $65,000 maximum per incident.
- $15,000 for destruction of another person’s property.
How do I file an SR22 Insurance form in Utah?
Your SR22 insurance in the state of Utah can be acquired from your auto insurance provider who will file your SR22 form with the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Utah. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest SR22 rates in Utah.
Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!
How much does an SR22 Insurance cost in the state of Utah?
In Utah, your insurance provider will charge you a filing fee of $15 to $35 to file for an SR22 insurance. But auto insurance providers typically charge a higher premium for motorists having an SR22 certificate to account for the increased risk of claim payout.
The increase in premium amount you pay depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, your age, and many other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 Insurance cost in Utah after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions –
|High Risk Rating Factor||Average Annual Rate||Increase vs. no violations|
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
How long do I need to carry an SR22 in Utah?
In Utah, all drivers requiring an SR22 insurance must maintain it for a minimum of three years (36 months) from the date their licenses are eligible to be reinstated. If you cancel/let your SR22 insurance policy lapse prematurely, your auto insurance provider will file an SR26 with DMV letting them know about the lapse in your SR22. After which the DMV will suspend your driving privileges until you get your SR22 renewed.
Unfortunately, a lapse or cancellation in SR22 policy “restarts the clock” for SR22 Insurance. For example, a person convicted of DUI, who lets his insurance lapse or cancel two (2) years into a three (3) year SR22 period would need to get a new SR22 for another three (3) years.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Utah
In Utah, non-owner SR22 insurance is required for motorists who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Utah depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, location, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Utah that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day.
Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Utah
1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Utah?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 in Utah. Top cities covered are Salt Lake City, West Valley City, Provo, West Jordan, Orem, Sandy, Ogden, St. George, Layton, South Jordan, Lehi, Millcreek, Taylorsville, Logan, Murray, Draper, Bountiful, Riverton, Herriman, Spanish Fork Roy, Pleasant Grove, Kearns, Tooele, Cottonwood Heights and more.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 in Utah by letting you compare SR22 car insurance quotes from various top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate etc)
Call us now at 888-885-3948!
2. How to get cheapest SR22 Insurance without a car in Utah?
In Utah, if you don’t own a car, you have to get a non – owners SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 in Utah. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day.
Give us a call at 888-885-3948 today!
3. Do I need to keep my SR22 Insurance even when I move out of Utah?
Even if you move out of Utah, you will still need to fulfil your SR-22 insurance filing period. This is regardless of whether you live in a state that requires SR-22 insurance or not.
4. Which companies offer cheap SR22 in Utah?
In Utah, top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer SR22 Insurance.
Call SR22InsuranceNow at 888-885-3948 to get a free S22 quote from top insurance providers (Geico, State Farm, Allstate, Progressive). Compare rates and save big.
5. Which companies offer cheap Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Utah?
State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and other top companies offer Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Utah.
You can call SR22InsuranceNow (888-885-3948) and one of our executives will assist you in getting the cheapest Non – Owner SR22 Insurance plan now!