How to get an SR22 Insurance in Kansas?
What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?
An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state.
SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility, which is needed to get your driving license reinstated after a driving infraction such as a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.
Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the auto insurance company that proves the driver has the minimum liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.
SR22 Insurance in Kansas
If your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Kansas state will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your driving license reinstated.
In Kansas, the SR22 certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your driving license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
SR-22 requirements in Kansas are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
Who needs an SR22 Insurance in Kansas?
In Kansas, SR22 insurance is essential for drivers –
- Convicted of DUI, DWI
- Convicted of serious moving violations, ie. reckless driving, speeding etc
- Failed to provide valid proof of insurance or providing false documents
- Caught driving on suspended or revoked license
What is the minimum liability coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 in Kansas?
The state of Kansas requires all drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance to have a minimum liability coverage of –
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 property damage coverage.
All drivers requiring an SR22 in Kansas must also carry Uninsured Motorist/Under-Insured Motorist insurance having a coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
In addition to this, Kansas requires all drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection (also known as PIP or No Fault) having minimum coverage of –
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses.
- $900 per month for disability and/or loss of income (for one year).
- $25 per day for in-home services (for one year).
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses.
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses.
How do I file an SR22 Insurance form in Kansas?
Your SR22 insurance in the state of Kansas can be acquired from your auto insurance provider who will file your SR22 form with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Kansas for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Kansas state. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest SR22 rate in Kansas.
Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!
How much does an SR22 Insurance cost in the state of Kansas?
In Kansas, your insurance provider will charge you a filing fee of $15 to $35 to file an SR22 insurance. However the filing fee isn’t the most expensive part of the SR22 Insurance. Once you are asked to get an SR22 Insurance, you are termed as a “high-risk” driver by the state as well as most of the auto insurance providers, resulting in higher insurance premiums, which hits your wallet hard.
The increase in premium amount you pay also depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, your age, the location you live in and many other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 Insurance cost in Kansas after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions –
|High Risk Rating Factor||Average Annual Rate||Increase vs. no violations|
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
How long do I need to carry an SR22 in Kansas?
In Kansas, all drivers requiring an SR22 insurance must maintain it continuously for a period of 12 months with no lapse in coverage and no additional violations committed within this period of 12 months.
If you let your SR22 lapse or commit a violation within this period, the 12-month clock resets, and the timing starts all over again.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Kansas
In Kansas, non-owner SR22 insurance is required for motorists who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving a car he does not own. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Kansas depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, location, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Kansas that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day.
Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Kansas
1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Kansas?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 in Kansas. Top cities covered are Wichita, Overland Park, Kansas City, Olathe, Topeka, Lawrence, Shawnee, Manhattan, Lenexa, Salina, Hutchinson, Leavenworth, Leawood, Dodge City, Garden City, Emporia, Derby, Junction City, Prairie Village, Gardner and more.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 in Kansas by letting you compare SR22 car insurance quotes from various top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate etc). You can choose the one that best suits your needs.
2. What are the different types of SR22 certificates available in Kansas?
In Kansas, the SR22 certificate is attached to a standard auto insurance policy with three types of filings:
- Non Owner – covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- Owner – covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- Owner Operator – covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned and operated by the motorist.
3. How to get cheapest SR22 Insurance without a car in Kansas?
In Kansas, if you don’t own a car, you have to get a Non – Owner SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving a car not owned by him.
SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 in Kansas. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 today!
4. Which companies offer cheap SR22 Insurance in Kansas?
Top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer SR22 Insurance in Kansas.
Call SR22InsuranceNow at 888-885-3948 and compare SR22 car insurance quotes from top providers (Geico, State Farm, Allstate, Progressive) and save big!
5. Which companies offer Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Kansas?
In Kansas, top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate Progressive and more offer non – owner SR22 Insurance.
You can call SR22InsuranceNow at 888-885-3948 and one of our executives will assist you in choosing the cheapest Non – Owner SR22 Insurance plan that meets all your needs at the most affordable rate.