How to get an SR22 Insurance in Florida?
What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?
An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state.
SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility that is needed to reestablish your driving privileges after a driving infraction for example, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.
Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the insurance company that proves the driver has the liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.
SR22 Insurance in Florida
If your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your license reinstated.
SR-22 requirements in the state of Florida are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
Who needs an SR22 Insurance in Florida?
A Florida SR22 car insurance is essential for drivers –
- Convicted of DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
- Were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
- Who have unpaid legal judgments.
- Who were caught driving without insurance or were unable to show proof of auto insurance to the authorities.
- Who have had excessive violations within a short period of time.
- Failed to pay child support.
What is the basic minimum coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance in Florida?
The state of Florida requires all drivers requiring a Florida SR22 Insurance to have a basic minimum coverage of –
- $10,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $10,000 personal injury protection.
- $10,000 property damage liability.
- $20,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident.
How do I get a Florida SR22 Insurance?
Your Florida SR22 can be acquired from your auto insurance provider. The insurance agency will file your SR22 auto insurance form with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest Florida SR22 Insurance. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, StateFarm, Progressive, Allstate etc) makes sure that you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in Florida. Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your requirement!
How much does a Florida SR22 Insurance cost?
Your insurance agency will charge you a filing fee of $15 to $35 to file for a Florida SR22 insurance. Having a Florida SR22 will increase your premium amount depending on the provider you choose, your driving violation, age, and other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in Florida after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions-
|High Risk Rating Factor||Average Annual Rate||Increase vs. no violations|
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
How long do I need a Florida SR22 Insurance?
You must maintain your Florida SR22 insurance for a minimum of three years. However, your exact requirement may vary depending on your violation and damage. Ensure that you contact your local office of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) to find out how long your SR22 will be required.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Florida
Non-Owner SR22 insurance in Florida is required for motorists who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the motorist while driving. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance plan depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies that offer non-owner SR22 insurance in Florida. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non-owner SR22 documented on the same day!
Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
Some FAQs regarding SR22 in Florida
1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Florida?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Florida. Top cities covered – Miami, Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville, Fort Lauderdale, St Augustine, Sarasota, Pensacola, Daytona Beach and more.
Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, StateFarm, Progressive, Allstate etc) will help you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in all counties and cities in Florida. Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
2. How to get cheap SR22 Insurance in Florida for people with bad credit?
Motorists with poor credit in Florida should look at the following insurers having the lowest average rates for minimum coverage:
- Direct Auto: $1,255 per year.
- Geico: $1,547 per year.
- Allstate: $1,734 per year.
- State Farm: $2,095 per year.
- Progressive: $2,971 per year.
If you have bad credit and want to get an SR22 Insurance in Florida, SR22InsuranceNow has got you covered. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 and one of our executives will assist you in choosing the cheapest SR22 Insurance plan!
3. How to get cheap SR22 insurance in Florida without a car?
If you don’t own a car, you’ll have to get a non – owner SR22 Insurance in Florida. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.
SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 insurance in Florida. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 today!
4. Do I have to carry an SR22 even if I move out of Florida to a new state?
Even if you move out of Florida, you will still have to carry the SR-22 insurance in your new state. This is regardless of whether you live in a state that requires SR-22 insurance or not.
5. What’s the difference between SR22 and FR44 Insurance in Florida?
Excluding Florida and Virginia, all other states require an SR22 insurance to restore the license for driving related offenses. These two states have incorporated an exclusive certificate, FR44, specially for DUI and DWI offenses whose liability limit is higher than $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident / $40,000 asset damage.
This is mainly incorporated since drunk or impaired driving can have much more disastrous consequences. Sadly, drivers convicted for DUI/DWI are repeatedly continuing the same behaviour. Hence introducing a much higher premium via FR44 insurance serves the purpose of keeping a check on intoxicated driving. A higher insurance coverage, also acts as a resource to hopefully meet the needs of injured parties.
That’s the difference between SR22 and FR44 insurance.
6. Which companies offer SR22 Insurance in Florida?
Top insurance companies like StateFarm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer SR22 Insurance in Florida.
You can call SR22InsuranceNow (888-885-3948) and one of our executives will assist you in choosing the cheapest SR22 Insurance plan!
7. Which companies offer Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Florida?
Top insurance companies like StateFarm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and more offer Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Florida.
You can call SR22InsuranceNow (888-885-3948) and one of our executives will assist you in choosing the cheapest Non – Owner SR22 Insurance plan!