How to get an SR22 Insurance in Tennessee

How to get an SR22 Insurance in Tennessee?

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?

An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum basic requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state. 

SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility which is needed to reestablish your driving privileges after a driving infraction for example, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.

Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the insurance company that proves the driver has the liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.

 

SR22 in Tennessee

If your driver’s license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense then the State of Tennessee will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your license reinstated.

The SR22 insurance in Tennessee certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.

SR-22 requirements in the state of Tennessee are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.

 

Who needs an SR22 in Tennessee?

A SR22 Insurance in Tennessee is essential for drivers – 

  • Convicted of DUI, DWI, or other major traffic violations.
  • Who were involved in an accident where there was bodily injury, death, or damage to property and the driver did not have minimum liability insurance.
  • With unpaid legal judgments
  • Who were caught without auto insurance or were unable to show proof of insurance to the authorities.
  • Who were convicted of excessive violations within a short period of time
  • Who failed to pay child support

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

What is the basic minimum coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 in Tennessee?

The state of Tennessee requires all drivers requiring a Tennessee SR22 Insurance to have a basic minimum coverage of – 

  • $25,000 for each injury or death per accident. 
  • $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident. 
  • $15,000 for property damage per accident

 

How do I get a Tennessee SR22 Insurance?

Your Tennessee SR22 insurance can be acquired from your auto insurance provider. The insurance agency will file your SR22 auto insurance form directly with the state of Tennessee for a minimal fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the state of Tennessee once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest Tennessee SR22 Insurance. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure that you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in Tennessee. Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your requirement!

 

How much does a Tennessee SR22 Insurance cost?

In Tennessee, your insurance provider will charge you a filing fee of $15 to $35 to file SR22 insurance. However, having an SR22 certificate in Tennessee will increase your premium amount depending on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, age, and other factors.

You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much does a SR22 insurance cost in Tennessee after being convicted of one of the below mentioned driving infractions- 

High Risk Rating Factor Average Annual Rate Increase vs. no violations
No Violations
$1,570
-
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
$2,215
$645
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
$2,043
$473
Reckless driving
$2,414
$844
Hit-and-run
$2,414
$844
DUI/DWI
$2,293
$723

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

How long do I need a Tennessee SR22 Insurance?

An SR-22 insurance in Tennessee can be required for a total of 5 years from your date of suspension. If the SR-22 is filed for a total of 3 years (36 months) within the 5-year period, the SR-22 may be cancelled provided it is not required due to any other suspension.

 

Non-Owner SR22 In Tennessee

In Tennessee, Non-owners SR22 insurance is required for drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. In Tennessee, the cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, postal division, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Tennessee that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day.

Call us at 888-885-3948 now!

 

Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Tennessee

1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Tennessee?

SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Tennessee. Top cities covered – Nashville, Memphis, Knoxville, Bristol, Chattanooga, Clarksville, Murfreesboro, Franklin, Jackson, Johnson City, Bartlett, Hendersonville, Kingsport, Collierville, Smyrna, Cleveland, Brentwood, Spring Hill, Germantown, Columbia, Gallatin, and more.  

Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, StateFarm, Progressive, Allstate etc) will help you get the cheapest SR22 insurance rates in all counties and cities in Tennessee. Call us now at 888-885-3948!

 

2. How to get cheap SR22 certificate in Tennessee without a car?

If you don’t own a car, you have to get a non – owner SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving.

SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 certificate in Tennessee. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 today!

 

3. Which companies offer cheap SR22 in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer cheap SR22 Insurance. 

You can call SR22InsuranceNow and one of our executives will assist you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance plan now! Call us now at 888-885-3948

 

4. Which companies offer cheap Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, State Farm, Geico, Allstate Progressive and other top companies offer cheap Non – Owner SR22 Insurance. 

You can call SR22InsuranceNow (888-885-3948) and one of our executives will assist you in getting the cheapest Non – Owner SR22 Insurance plan now!

 

5. What happens if my SR22 Insurance expires before the mandated time?

Once your Tennessee SR22 expires or is cancelled before the mandated period, the insurance company will issue you an SR-26 and notify the state of Tennessee. 

If a new SR22 form is not filed, your driving privileges will be suspended.

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured