DUI Laws in New Jersey

DUI Laws in New Jersey

Currently Insured

The state of New Jersey prohibits individuals from driving or operating a motor vehicle under the influence of either alcohol or drugs. People found driving a vehicle with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of more than the legal limit will be charged with a DWI violation and will be dealt with appropriately.

A driver is considered to be legally drunk/intoxicated in New Jersey under the follow circumstances: 

  • Drivers operating a vehicle: BAC is .8% or more.
  • Driving under the influence of narcotics, intoxicating liquors, hallucinogens, or habit-producing drugs.

What happens when you get convicted for a DWI in New Jersey?  

Below are some of the consequences one might face in New Jersey after being convicted of a DWI:
  • Driver’s License Suspension:

The most straightforward consequence of a DWI charge is that your driver’s license will be suspended for a certain period of time even though you haven’t been convicted–unless you take immediate legal action.

  • Jail Sentence:

The jail sentence for a DWI violation in New Jersey will depend on various factors such as the seriousness of the offense committed, number of previous violations and other factors. As a first time DWI offender, the driver will face a minimum jail time of 10-365 days in jail.

  • Financial consequences:

The most excruciating part of a DWI charge is the exorbitant amount of penalties and fines one has to pay in accordance with the law. There are several other charges such as paying for a DWI school course or an alcohol treatment program which is mandatory for certain offenders. Additionally, the car you drove while being arrested might also be impounded by the authorities and you may also be required to pay a certain amount for each day it stays in the impound lot. License reinstatement comes with its own fee. And most importantly, having a DWI charge on your driving record will raise the rates of your auto insurance premium. 

Currently Insured

Penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey

The penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey are as follows:
Offence Count1st Offence2nd Offence3rd Offence
Fine$250-$400 ($300-$500 if BAC of .10% or more or under influence of drugs)$500-$1,000$1,000
License Suspension3 months (7012 months if BAC of .10% /more or under influence of drugs)1-2 years8 years
JailUp to 30 days48 hours-90 days180 days
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Program12-48 hoursComplete programComplete program
Community ServiceN.A30 daysUp to 90 days (counts towards jail term)

New Jersey’s Implied Consent Law

The Implied consent law in New Jerseys that all drivers lawfully charged with a DWI need to submit their blood/urine sample for further investigation and on failure to do so they will have their license suspended for a certain time period.
Offence Count1st Offence2n Offence3rd Offence
License Suspension7-12 Months1-2 Years8 Years
Currently Insured

SR22 in New Jersey

SR22 insurance is financial liability insurance required by many states for drink and drive violations. But in New Jersey, there is no SR22 insurance. However, if you reside in New Jersey, and get a DWI in another state, that state may require you to buy SR22 insurance. But your license may get canceled due to

  •  Accumulation of 12 or more points on driving record When you fail to pay surcharges
  • When you fail to provide proof of insurance
  • When there is a reckless driving
  • When you were involved in a fatal accident
  •  When you drive under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs


The most suitable way to avoid getting charged with  a DWI violation or having to pay hefty DWI fines is to simply abstain yourself from driving when you are under the influence of alcohol. But that might not necessarily happen as mistakes are bound to take place – statistics have shown more than 17,000 New Jersey drivers per year get charged with a DWI violation on average.

We at SR22InsuranceNow aim to provide you with the most accurate and up to date information regarding New Jersey’s DWI laws so that you can take the right decision if a certain situation arises.

Currently Insured