How to get an SR22 Insurance in Minnesota

How to get an SR22 Insurance in Minnesota?

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?

An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that a driver meets the minimum vehicle liability insurance coverage needed by the state. 

SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility, which is needed to reestablish your driving privileges after a driving infraction for example, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.

Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the insurance company that proves the driver has the minimum liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.

 

SR22 Insurance in Minnesota

Minnesota is one of the six states where drivers do not need an SR22 insurance to get their driver’s license reinstated after being convicted of a moving violation or some other serious driving related offense. However the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) makes it mandatory for all drivers to carry minimum liability insurance coverage.

So to be able to get your license and driving privileges reinstated in Minnesota, you must file an insurance certification form with the Department of Public Safety (DPS) indicating that you have the minimum liability insurance coverage required by the state.

 

Who needs an SR22(Insurance Certification Form) in Minnesota? 

In Minnesota, driver’s who’ve had their licenses suspended after being convicted of one or more of the below listed infractions need to file for an SR22 certificate/ insurance certificate form to get their licenses reinstated – 

  • Driving without proper liability insurance.
  • Driving on a suspended or revoked license.
  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

Minnesota Mandatory Minimum Insurance Requirements

Minnesota’s No-Fault Automobile Insurance Act mandates that drivers carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on their insurance policies. The compulsory minimum PIP coverage in Minnesota is $40,000.

In addition to this, the state of Minnesota mandates that all registered vehicles must have minimum liability coverage of at least –

  • $30,000 for injuries to one person 
  • $60,000 for injuries to two or more persons
  • $10,000 for property damage.

 

Failure to maintain the minimum insurance coverage can lead to your driving privileges being revoked and your license being suspended. 

 

How do I file an insurance certification form(SR22) in Minnesota?

Follow these steps to get an SR22 Insurance in Minnesota – 

1. Notify your car insurance provider – If you already have auto insurance, you should let your auto insurance provider know that you need to file an insurance certification.

2. Find a car insurance provider –  Not all auto insurance providers will insure someone who is required to file an insurance certification. To find a provider who will, you can call SR22InsuranceNow and one of our executives will help you find one.

3. Pay the fee – Your auto insurance provider will charge you a minimal processing fee for filing the insurance certification.

4. Submit your insurance certification form –  In Minnesota, typically your insurance provider will electronically file the certification on your behalf. 

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in filing your insurance certification form in the state of Minnesota. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest insurance rates in Minnesota.

Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!

 

How much does an SR22 cost in the state of Minnesota?

In Minnesota, your insurance provider will charge you a filing fee of $20 to $50 to file for an insurance certification form. However the documentation charges aren’t the most expensive part of the insurance certification form. Once you are asked to file an insurance certification form to get your license reinstated, you are termed as a “high-risk” driver by the state of Minnesota and most of the auto insurance providers, resulting in higher insurance premiums, which hits your wallet hard.

The increase in premium amount you get also depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, your age, and many other factors.

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest minimum liability insurance in the state of Minnesota. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest insurance rates in Minnesota.

Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured

How long do I need to carry the insurance certification form in Minnesota?

In Minnesota, all drivers who are required to carry an insurance certification, must do it so for a minimum of three years (36 months), which can vary depending on the severity of the crime.

If you let your insurance certification lapse prematurely, your auto insurance provider will notify the Department of Public Safety (DPS) in Minnesota and your driving license will be suspended until you get your insurance certification renewed.

 

Non-Owner SR22 Insurance In Minnesota

In Minnesota, Non-owner/operator’s insurance policy is required for drivers who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving. The cost of a Non-owner/operator’s insurance policy in Minnesota depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, location, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Minnesota that offer Non-owner/operator’s insurance policy. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your policy documented on the same day.

Call us at 888-885-3948 now!

 

Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Minnesota

1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Minnesota?

SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest liability insurance in the state of Minnesota. Top cities covered: Minneapolis, St. Paul, Rochester, Duluth, Bloomington, Brooklyn Park, Plymouth, Maple Grove, Woodbury, St. Cloud, Eagan, Eden Prairie, Blaine, Lakeville, Coon Rapids, Burnsville, Minnetonka, Apple Valley, Edina, St. Louis Park and more.  

We can help you in getting the cheapest liability insurance in Minnesota by letting you compare car insurance quotes from various top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate etc) 

Call us now at 888-885-3948!

 

2. What are the different types of Insurance certification(SR22) form available in Minnesota?

In Minnesota, the insurance certification form is attached to a standard auto insurance policy with three types of filings:

  • Non Owner – covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
  • Owner – covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
  • Owner Operator – covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned and operated by the motorist.

 

3. How long do I need to own Non Owner SR-22 insurance in Minneapolis?

In Minneapolis, all drivers who are required to carry a non owner/operator’s insurance certification, must do it so for a minimum of three years (36 months), which can vary depending on the severity of the crime.

If you let your insurance certification lapse prematurely, your auto insurance provider will notify the Department of Public Safety (DPS) in Minnesota and your driving license will be suspended until you get your insurance certification renewed.

Get a Free, No-obligation SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes

Currently Insured