How to get an SR22 Insurance in Colorado?
In all states across the country, driving under the influence of either drugs or narcotics is a criminal offence and this is no different in the state of Colorado. The DUI law in the state certifies that driving or operating a vehicle above the given limits for alcohol or narcotics is a serious offence and violators will be charged with a DUI for the same.
In Colorado, you can be lawfully charged with a DUI violation if you if you are found guilty of the following:
- Operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .8% or more.
- Operating a motor vehicle with a certain concentration of narcotics.
It should be also noted that driving with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of more than 0.5% but less than 0.8% is stated as a DWAI (Driving while ability impaired) offence.
Difference between DUI and DWAI
The state of Colorado has 3 categories of impaired driving which are as follows:
- DUI: Driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination of both is termed as a DUI.
- DWAI: Driving a vehicle while having your “ability impaired” (having a BAC between 0.5% – 0.8%) under the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination of both is termed as a DWAI.
- DUI Per Se: Driving a vehicle with a BAC of 0.8% or more is termed as a DUI Per Se.
What happens when you get convicted for a DUI in Colorado?
Below are some of the consequences one might face in Colorado after being convicted of a DUI:
Driver’s License Suspension:
The most straightforward consequence of a DUI charge is that your driver’s license will be suspended for a certain period of time even though you haven’t been convicted–unless you take immediate legal action.
The jail sentence for a DUI violation in Colorado will depend on various factors such as the seriousness of the offence committed, number of previous violations and other factors. As a first time DUI offender, the driver will face a minimum jail time of 10-365 days in jail.
The most excruciating part of a DUI charge is the exorbitant amount of penalties and fines one has to pay in accordance with the law. There are several other charges such as paying for a DUI school course or an alcohol treatment program which is mandatory for certain offenders.
Additionally, the car you drove while being arrested might also be impounded by the authorities and you may also be required to pay a certain amount for each day it stays in the impound lot. License reinstatement comes with its own fee. And most importantly, having a DUI charge on your driving record will raise the rates of your auto insurance premium.
Colorado DUI Penalties
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Colorado are as follows:
$600-$1,000 (for DUI and DUI per se convictions)
$200-$500 (for DWAI convictions)
5-365 Days (for DUI and DUI per se convictions)
2-180 days (for DWAI)
48-96 hours (for DUI and DUI per se convictions) 24-48 hours (for DWAI)
Colorado’s Implied Consent Law
The implied consent law of Colorado states that drivers who are lawfully charged with a DUI conviction, have given consent to testing of breath/blood/urine or other bodily substance if there’s a cause to believe that the individual is under the influence of alcohol or other substances.
Individuals who fail/refuse to submit to chemical testing face the following suspension periods:
SR22 Insurance in Colorado
SR-22 is a legal certificate required by the Colorado state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as proof that you hold the minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance required to drive a car after being convicted of one of the serious traffic violations. An SR22 insurance certificate is required to reinstate your driving license after a driving violation such as a DUI conviction or auto accident.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Colorado?
In Colorado, SR-22 car insurance is necessary for drivers
- Who are caught driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Who are uninsured and found to be at fault in an accident
- Who are convicted of driving under the influence, driving with impaired ability or any other serious moving violation
The most suitable way to avoid getting charged with a DUI violation or having to pay hefty DUI fines is to abstain yourself from driving when you are under the influence of alcohol. But that might not necessarily happen as mistakes are bound to take place-statistics have shown more than 26,000 Colorado drivers per year get charged with a DWI violation on average.
We at SR22InsuranceNow aim to provide you with the most accurate and up to date information regarding Colorado DUI laws so that you can take the right decision if a certain situation arises.