DUI Laws in Indiana
DUI Laws in Indiana
In Indiana if a driver is caught operating a vehicle under the influence of either alcohol or any narcotic substances, he/she will be charged with the state OVWI law and face the necessary consequences.
If an individual is caught violating the norms, the state legally allows authorities to arrest individuals and charge them according to the DUI/OWI law. If found guilty, violators are bound to face serious consequences such as fines, license suspension, jail sentence and so on.
Difference between DUI and OWI in Indiana
In Indiana when a driver is caught operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol/drugs, they can be charged with an OVWI i.e Operating a vehicle while intoxicated. As per the Indiana OVI Laws, it is technically called as an OVWI, but DUI/OWI is used interchangeably as most people address it under these two terms.
When is a driver considered to be legally drunk in Indiana
A driver is considered to be legally drunk in Indiana under the follow circumstances:
- Drivers operating a commercial vehicle: BAC is .4% or more.
- Drivers under the age of 21: BAC is more than unit .2%
- Non-Commercial drivers: BAC is .8% or more
What happens when you get convicted for a DUI/OWI in Indiana?
Driver’s License Suspension:
The most straightforward consequence of a DUI charge is that your driver’s license will be suspended for a certain period of time even though you haven’t been convicted–unless you take immediate legal action.
The jail sentence for a DUI violation in Indiana will depend on various factors such as the seriousness of the offence committed, number of previous violations and other factors. As a first time DUI offender, the driver will face a minimum jail time of 10-365 days in jail.
The most excruciating part of a DUI charge is the exorbitant amount of penalties and fines one has to pay in accordance with the law. There are several other charges such as paying for a DUI school course or an alcohol treatment program which is mandatory for certain offenders. Additionally, the car you drove while being arrested might also be impounded by the authorities and you may also be required to pay a certain amount for each day it stays in the impound lot. License reinstatement comes with its own fee. And most importantly, having a DUI charge on your driving record will raise the rates of your auto insurance premium.
Penalties for a DWI conviction in Indiana
|Offence Count||1st Offence||2nd Offence||3rd Offence|
|Fine||Up to $500 (or up to $5,000 with BAC of .15% or more)||Up to $500 (or up to $5,000 with BAC of .15% or more)||Up to $500 (or up to $5,000 with BAC of .15% or more)|
|License Suspension||180 Days||365 Days||365 Days|
|Jail||Up to 60 days (or up to 1 year with BAC of .15% or more)||Up to 60 days (or up to 1 year with BAC of .15% or more)||Up to 60 days (or up to 1 year with BAC of .15% or more)|
|IID Requirements||Up to 60 days (or up to 1 year with BAC of .15% or more)||Up to 60 days (or up to 1 year with BAC of .15% or more)||Up to 60 days (or up to 1 year with BAC of .15% or more)|
Indiana's Implied Consent Law
The Implied consent law in Indiana states that all drivers lawfully charged with a DUI need to submit their blood/urine sample for further investigation and on failure to do they will have to face the following consequences:
- License suspension
- conviction of an infraction
- Getting charged with refusal of evidence
- consecutive license suspensions
- ineligibility for reinstatement of driving privileges if found not guilty of the OWI charge
- ineligibility for specialised driving privileges
SR22 Insurance in Indiana
In Indiana, if your license is suspended for any moving violations or you have been convicted of a more serious driving-related offence then The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company to get your license reinstated.
SR22 insurance in Indiana certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your license reinstated after having been convicted of one of a few serious driving offences.
SR-22 requirements in Indiana are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
The most suitable way to avoid getting charged with a DUI violation or having to pay hefty DUI fines is to abstain yourself from driving when you are under the influence of alcohol. But that might not necessarily happen as mistakes are bound to take place-statistics have shown more than 8,500 Indiana drivers per year get charged with a DWI violation on average.
We at SR22InsuranceNow aim to provide you with the most accurate and up to date information regarding Indiana DUI laws so that you can take the right decision if a certain situation arises.