How to get an SR22 Insurance in Oregon?
What is an SR22 Insurance and why do I need it?
An SR22 insurance is needed by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as confirmation that the driver meets the minimum requirements of vehicle liability insurance needed by the state.
SR22 is basically a certificate of financial responsibility, which is needed to get your driving privileges reinstated after a driving infraction such as, a DUI conviction, an uninsured car crash/auto accident.
Though it is commonly referred to as “SR-22 insurance”, it’s not insurance. It is simply a document provided by the auto insurance company that proves the driver has the minimum liability coverage on the car insurance policy required by the specific state.
SR22 Insurance in Oregon
If your license is suspended for any moving violations or you are convicted of a more serious driving-related offense, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Oregon will likely need you to obtain an SR-22 from a licensed auto insurance company in order for you to get your driving license reinstated.
The SR22 in Oregon certifies that you have the state-mandated minimum car insurance coverage required to drive or to have your driving license reinstated after being convicted of one of a few serious driving offenses.
SR-22 requirements in Oregon are unique to the state. So it’s important for you to understand how this will impact your insurance rate, driving record and other factors.
Who needs an SR22 Insurance in Oregon?
In Oregon, driver’s who’ve had their licenses suspended after being convicted of one or more of the below listed infractions need to file an SR22 certificate to get their licenses reinstated–
- Convicted of DUI, DWI
- Convicted of serious moving violations, i.e. reckless driving, speeding etc
- Failed to provide valid proof of insurance or providing false documents
- Caught driving on suspended or revoked license
- Accumulating excessive amount of tickets over a short period of time
- Unpaid legal judgements
- Failure to pay child support
What is the minimum liability coverage amount to be purchased and maintained by all the drivers requiring an SR22 in Oregon?
The state of Oregon requires all drivers requiring an SR22 Insurance to have a minimum liability coverage of –
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $20,000 property damage coverage.
In addition to this, Oregon also requires all drivers requiring an SR22 to carry –
- $15,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
- $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per accident.
How do I file an SR22 Insurance form in Oregon?
Your SR22 insurance in the state of Oregon can be acquired from your auto insurance provider who will file your SR22 form with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a fee. You will receive a copy of the form along with a letter from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) once your SR22 insurance filing has been accepted.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 Insurance in Oregon. Our nationwide partnerships with top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate & more) makes sure you get the cheapest SR22 rates in Oregon.
Call us now at 888-885-3948 to compare rates from top providers and get the best offer unique to your needs!
How much does an SR22 Insurance cost in the state of Oregon?
In Oregon, your insurance provider will charge you a fee of $15 to $35 to file an SR22 insurance. But auto insurance providers typically charge a higher premium to motorists with SR22 certificates to account for the increased risk of claim payout.
The increase in premium amount you pay depends on the provider you choose, severity of your driving violation, your age, and many other factors.
You can check the table below to get an estimate of how much a SR22 Insurance is going to cost you in Oregon –
|High Risk Rating Factor||Average Annual Rate||Increase vs. no violations|
At-fault collision with damage over $2,000
Speeding of 21-25 mph over the limit
How long do I need to carry an SR22 in Oregon?
In Oregon, all drivers requiring an SR22 insurance must maintain it for a minimum of three years (36 months) from the date their licenses are eligible to be reinstated. Although the time frame can be extended if you commit driving violations during that period.
If you cancel/let your SR22 insurance policy lapse prematurely, your auto insurance provider will file an SR26 with DMV, informing them about the lapse in your SR22. After which the DMV will suspend your driving privileges until you get your SR22 renewed.
Non-Owner SR22 Insurance in Oregon
In Oregon, non-owner SR22 insurance is required for motorists who drive a car but don’t own it. This includes coverage for any damage caused by the driver while driving a car he does not own. The cost of a non-owner SR22 insurance in Oregon depends on a few components including age, sexual orientation, location, conjugal status, driving record, and FICO score.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in finding insurance companies in Oregon that offer non-owner SR22 insurance. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Call us at 888-885-3948 now!
Frequently asked questions related to SR22 Insurance in Oregon
1. Where can I get the cheapest SR22 in Oregon?
SR22InsuranceNow can help you find the cheapest SR22 in Oregon. Top cities covered are Portland, Salem, Eugene, Gresham, Hillsboro, Beaverton, Bend, Medford, Springfield, Corvallis, Aloha, Albany, Tigard, Lake Oswego, Keizer, Grants Pass, Oregon City, McMinnville, Redmond, Tualatin, West Linn, Bethany, Woodburn, Forest Grove, Wilsonville, and more.
SR22InsuranceNow can help you in getting the cheapest SR22 in Oregon by letting you compare SR22 car insurance quotes from various top providers (Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate etc) and save big.
2. How to get cheapest SR22 Insurance without a car in Oregon?
In Oregon, if you don’t own a car, you have to get a Non – Owner SR22 Insurance. This insurance covers the cost of any damage caused by the driver while driving a car not owned by him.
SR22InsuranceNow will help in finding insurance companies that offer the cheapest non-owner SR22 in Oregon. It just takes a couple of minutes and you can have your non – owner SR22 documented on the same day. Give us a call at 888-885-3948 today!
3. Which companies offer cheap SR22 Insurance in Oregon?
Top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Progressive and many more offer SR22 Insurance in Oregon.
Call SR22InsuranceNow at 888-885-3948 and compare SR22 car insurance quotes from top providers (Geico, State Farm, Allstate, Progressive) and choose the one that best suits your needs.
4. Which companies offer Non – Owner SR22 Insurance in Oregon?
In Oregon, top insurance companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate Progressive and more offer Non – Owner SR22 Insurance.
You can call SR22InsuranceNow at 888-885-3948 and one of our executives will assist you in choosing the cheapest Non – Owner SR22 Insurance plan.